The Department Office will be closed for Spring Break, March 23-27

E komo mai. Welcome to the Department of Political Science. Since our establishment in the 1940s, we have been recognized as providing graduate programs of distinction and we stand out in the fields of international relations, political theory, comparative studies, Asian politics, futures studies, and indigenous politics.

Our students are encouraged to broaden their perspectives by taking courses in other departments and through the many interdisciplinary programs associated with the University such as Asian Studies and the Pacific Islands program.

Graduates of our department have entered numerous fields such as journalism, foreign service, social service, government, law, teaching, civil service, business, librarianship, law enforcement, and research.


Department Chair
Debora Halbert
Saunders Hall 640B
Undergraduate Chair
Ehito Kimura (Interim)
Saunders Hall 610
Graduate Chair
Sankaran Krishna
Saunders Hall 640D